Where Do I Begin?

 

Hello friends! A lot has happened here in Miami and it has only been one week! First, I want to thank everyone for their continued support during this transition. And transition it has been indeed.

Where do I begin?

After arriving in Miami my fellow YAVs and I took a driving tour through the city. Each different region and neighborhood has it’s own unique presence which makes Miami a special city. There is no singular word or description I can use to accurately portray this diverse city for what it is. I guess you’ll have to take my word for it. After seeing the parts of the city I couldn’t help but ask myself, where do I fit in?

I have felt most at home with my housemates, bonding over shared life experiences as well as learning about new ways of life. I have felt comforted while drinking a cup of Cafe con Leche at the local Cuban market near our house in Little Havana. I have felt curious as I’ve stared at the behemoth that is Marlins Park. I have felt disoriented when we were dropped off in the middle of nowhere and were challenged to find our way home with our new bus passes in South Miami. I have felt excitement when I found a giant avocado at a market on Calle Ocho. I have felt at peace singing with the church choir, “Be Thou My Vision”, which is one of my favorite hymns at my new church.

I have a long way to go before I change my status from “visitor” to “resident” in the city of Miami, but I can not wait to live out this transition.

-JG

6 thoughts on “Where Do I Begin?

  1. Russ K

    Blessings on your journey, Jillian! I know you are going to have a great/challenging/awe-inspiring year. Be open to Gods mysteries! Blessings!

    XOXO RMK

    Like

  2. Mindy

    It’s so great to hear how your transition is going. Praying for you, your housemates, and the community you’re serving. God is good! 🙏🏻

    Like

  3. Judy Gardner

    We look forward to your blogs (if that is what they are called) and look forward to taking the journey with you. We know the community you are serving is lucky to have your care and compassion.

    Like

  4. Lois-Lynn Bellemare

    Hi Jillian, Your grandma Judy shared your blog with me and I am so excited for you as I know God has big plans for you as his disciple. I want to know how I can get your blog sent to me. Blessings, Lois-Lynn Bellemare

    Like

  5. *HUG!* You’re doing great! Be Thou my vision is one of my favorites too! (Rend Collective has an awesome version called You are My Vision if you’re looking for a little pick me up outside of church)

    Like

Leave a Reply

