Why did Jillian move to Miami?

This question is harder to answer then you’d think it would be.

The easy answer: I moved to Miami to start seeing the world through a new lens, a new perspective. Coming from a comfortable life back in New Jersey, I moved to be part of something bigger. I am a Young Adult Volunteer through the Presbyterian Church U.S.A. and I hope to serve the community of Miami with an open heart, mind, and attitude.

The hard answer: I moved to Miami to become uncomfortable. Living in discomfort was never easy for me. I had an easy life with so many blessings that I can’t even begin to fathom why I am deserving of them. Seeing God in the face of social, political, and economic distress and dis-ease is not comfortable. By becoming aware of injustice and becoming a witness, I believe, I will change my feelings of discomfort into action.

This blog will allow me to attempt to answer questions that I am faced throughout my year of mission. By answering these difficult questions I hope to inspire others to ask themselves the same. Questions like: What had God intended for me to do with my gifts and talents? Is there a plan for me? What does it truly mean to follow God?  By asking these challenging questions I hope to create space to share ideas, perspectives, and stories.

Thank you for joining me on my journey,

-JG

2 thoughts on “Why did Jillian move to Miami?

  1. Suzanne Moller

    Buena suerte Jillian. All of us at church are so proud of you! I think that you will be an inspiration to others. Vaya con Dios. – Ed and Suzanne Moller

    Like

Leave a comment